Champdogs Information Exchange - Not logged in
Forum Board Index Breeders Active Topics Help Search Register Login
Previous Next Up Topic Dog Boards / Breeding / Double Merle Breeding rewarded at Westminster
By Merlot (***) Date 14.02.12 20:17 GMT
And we thought the UK had problems !!
http://www.astraean.com/borderwars/2012/02/westminster-rewards-cruelty.html
I have no knowledge of merles as they do not occur in my breed bt this has made me so anoyed with those who re just out for the trophys...
Aileen
"Dogs feel very strongly that they should always go with you in the car, to bark loudly in your ear!
By Brainless (*****) [gb] Date 14.02.12 20:54 GMT
Certainly the breeding of the sire (and probably the dog) was wrong, but at a show a judge rewards the dogs in front of him and in theory should not know anything about how they re bred and as long as the animal in front of them is fit and apparently healthy then they have done nothing wrong.

Slightly different:

Would you criticise the offspring of a dog blind from PRA (when it was not possible to know the parents were carriers) possessing outstanding characteristics being used to preserve it's positive traits by being mated to a clear partner once a DNA test becomes available, and thereby being able to breed the 'unaffected' and healthy carrier offspring to clear partners to obtain some clear offspring to continue with and be clear of the mutation?
Barbara and the Grey Curly Tails.
By PennyGC (***) [gb] Date 14.02.12 21:42 GMT
There is a lot of merle to merle breeding in the USA - eg seen a stud dog (sheltie) who's white and double merle - they like using them as they guarantee a litter of merles.  They don't appear bothered by the poor pups born deaf and/or blind (not all of them are affected).  Fortunately in UK merle to merle are no longer able to be registered.
Agility is fun
By MsTemeraire (***) [gb] Date 14.02.12 21:46 GMT

> Slightly different:
>